140 years ago today - Oct 16, 1875

Establishment of Brigham Young Academy in Provo, renamed "University" in 1903. This is the first of the church's thirty-seven academies which until 1900 offer primarily elementary level education with some secondary coursework. However, academies also develop college-level "normal" curriculum for teacher-training. By 1934 only four remain LDS institutions. Other major LDS academies are Brigham Young College at Logan, Utah, in 1877 (closed in 1926), Salt Lake Stake Academy in 1886 (now LDS Business College), Bannock Stake Academy in 1888 (now BYU-Idaho), St. George Stake Academy in 1888 (now Utah state-operated Dixie College), Sanpete Stake Academy in 1888 (now Utah state-operated Snow College), Weber Stake Academy in 1888 (now Utah state-operated Weber State University), St. Joseph Stake Academy in 1891 (now state-operated Eastern Arizona College), and Juarez Stake Academy in 1897 (later Academia Juarez).

[Source: The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database (http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase)]]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please Enter your Comment: