115 years ago today - Apr 9, 1906

... At the conclusion of the meeting, the Presidency and Apostles repaired to the Temple, where we received valuable instructions from President Joseph F. Smith, after which the new members were ordained and set apart as members of the Quorum by President Joseph F. Smith as follows: George F. Richards, Orson F. Whitney, David O. McKay. All the members of the Twelve were present except George Teasdale, Heber J. Grant, and Reed Smoot. We had regular a Pentacost and brethren wept in one another's embrace. At 5:00 P.M. we and our wives met at President [John R.] Winder's home at 49 West Temple Street where we partook of a bountiful repast, after which President Smith dedicated the home of President Winder. Had talks, singing and music and a wonderful evening.

[George F. Richards, Diary, as quoted in Minutes of the Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1835-1951, Electronic Edition, 2015]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please Enter your Comment: