70 years ago today - Apr 9, 1951

Conference sustains David O. McKay as church president with Stephen L. Richards and J. Reuben Clark as counselors. This demotion of Clark from first counselor stuns many Mormons, including the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. For the first time in its history, the Twelve "ordains" the church president and then sets apart McKay and his counselors. McKay is also the first church president who graduated from college (University of Utah).

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database (http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase)]]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please Enter your Comment: