120 years ago today - Thursday, Oct 17, 1901

[John Henry Smith]

... After we had transacted our business, I moved that we proceed at once to the organization of the first Presidency and after some remarks by Joseph F. Smith it was carried unanimously.

On motion of Brigham Young Seconded by the whole body, Joseph F. Smith was sustained as president of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints, the vote being unanimous. He Chose for his Councillors John R. Winder and Anthon Henrik Lund. Brigham Young president of the Twelve Apostles. All three were unanimously sustained.

John Smith Patriarch was mouth in setting apart Joseph F. Smith as President of the church. John R. Winder was called in and ordained an Apostle under the hands of us all, President Smith being mouth and also set apart as first Councillor. Anthon H. Lund was set apart as second Councillor by Joseph F. Smith and Brigham Young as the President of the Twelve.

The spirit of Lord was with us in power. J. F. S. was made President of the Temple and Trustee [in Trust] of the church.

[Jean Bickmore White (editor), Church, State, and Politics: The Diaries of John Henry Smith, Signature Books in association with Smith Research Associates, Salt Lake City, 1990, http://bit.ly/johnhenrysmith]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please Enter your Comment: