100 years ago today - Mar 10, 1921

At the Council meeting President Heber J. Grant nominated as his Counselors, President Charles W. Penrose as First, and Elder Anthony W. Ivins as Second, in the First Presidency. I believe every one of the brethren present had the assurance which only the operation of the Holy Spirit can give, that the nominations were divinely inspired; and the brethren were unanimously sustained in their respective positions by vote of the Council. President Rudger Clawson who, during the life of President Lund since the accession of President Heber J. Grant to the Presidency of the Church, has been Acting President of the Council of the Twelve, President Lund being by seniority the actual President of the Twelve, was nominated and unanimously sustained to be the President of the Council of the Twelve Apostles. Each member of the Council spoke in turn; and Presidents Charles W. Penrose, Anthony W. Ivins, and Rudger Clawson were duly set apart under the hands of the Council, President Heber J. Grant being voice in each of the ordinances. To the great satisfaction of all, the inspiration came to make Elder George F. Richards president of the Salt Lake Temple. This action was likewise sustained by the unanimous vote of the Council. This action is promptly filling vacancies caused by deaths among the presiding quorums or councils of the Church appeals to us all as the proper procedure. I am sure that President Anthon H. Lund could he have expressed himself audibly to us, would have commended the action.

[James E. Talmage, Diary, as quoted in Minutes of the Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 1835-1951, Electronic Edition, 2015]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please Enter your Comment: